Watch our 7min film about Whalley Range wildlife on YouTube

Our 7 min film about wildlife in Whalley Range can be viewed here. It was posted at 8:41pm on 19th March 2014 by cultureprobe.

Let us know what you think!

This film was produced as part of the Greater Manchester Local Record Centre ‘From Grey to Green’ project supported by the National Lottery through the Heritage Lottery Fund.

We are looking for new videos for this site.  Please send us any you may have of the local wildlife or nature in Whalley Range.

 

This entry was posted in nature. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Watch our 7min film about Whalley Range wildlife on YouTube

  1. Naomi Racz says:

    Excellent video! I love the shot of the fox drinking from a pond at the beginning and it’s good to see the peacock is still around. There used to be two peacocks – the other one would often sunbathe in our garden, but we suspect a fox got it because we found its feathers all over the garden one morning.

    It’s wonderful to see so much nature in Whalley Range. I lived them for 15 years and it is a great part of the city for nature.

  2. StiffKnees says:

    Great video, thank you. Whally Range is such a gem for wildlife, I’ve lived in the area for about 14 years

  3. StiffKnees says:

    Reblogged this on Green Knees and commented:
    A lovely video about the wildlife in my neighborhood, Whally Range. Made a group of local wildlife enthusiasts.

  4. Beautiful! Thank you for sharing 🙂

  5. I’ve had a think about what I meant by saying I felt it was Bristolian. I feel it is artistic to let the subjects speak for themselves in the same way graffiti artists dont narate their art work in Bristol. They simply display it. It puts the emphasis on me to think about what these critters do before and after they wonder past the cameras for instance. This is a compliment as I love the artwork in Bristol. Hope this makes sense. I love the footage. Im going to try and replicate your approach in my local patch over the following year. Paul

  6. Julie Boyd says:

    The video is great……….by the way, I spotted an owl on a tree outside my window (I live in Whalley Range). I had heard hooting sounds through the night on several occasions over the months but did not believe it could be an owl (thought it may just be a wood pigeon or collared dove except they usually sleep during night-time) so when I happened to look out of my window one night about 11pm last week I saw a tawny owl perched on the branch!

    Julie

Leave a Reply

